The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to Arrowmen, youth and adult, who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented at National Order of the Arrow Conferences. Since the time the first awards were presented, less than 1000 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded.

Eric Harrison is the only member from Illinek Lodge to have earned the Distinguished Service Award. Eric is a Vigil Honor member from Taylorville, Illinois. He began his journey with American Indian Affairs and eventually served as Lodge Treasurer and Vice Chief. After serving as the Illinek Lodge Chief from 2016 - 2018, Eric served as Section Vice Chief and Section Chief for Section C-3B, and eventually the National Vice Chief in 2017. He has also earned the rank of Eagle Scout, as well as the Founder’s Award, and the James E. West Fellowship Award.